Afternoon Tea at The Mandarin Oriental

I’ve not had afternoon tea for several years so while my Mum was here in New York a few months ago, I thought it would be fun to try out somewhere new. I settled on The Mandarin Oriental because their menu sounded interesting, afternoon tea with an international twist, and I knew the view from their lobby lounge over Central Park was perfect for the out-of-town visitor – to give them a real “New York” experience.

IMG_6495.JPG

It was a delicious and memorable afternoon. The staff was terrific – friendly, professional and accommodating. We turned up late in the afternoon without a reservation, but they quickly seated us and pulled the afternoon tea together in a matter of minutes. And the view did not disappoint. In late September, Central Park was still a carpet of emerald greenery.

The scones were a particular favourite – partly because I haven’t had a proper scone since leaving Sydney seven years ago. Light, warm, crumbly with a hint of ginger. I also loved all the savoury sandwiches. The flavours were perfectly balanced. I chose to drink English Breakfast tea, the Rose of New York tea was very tempting, but I wanted to make sure the flavour of the tea didn’t interfere with the other delicacies.

Definitely somewhere I will go back to.

IMG_4489

Freshly Baked Scones Served with a Selection of Homemade Jam, Orange Marmalade and Devonshire Cream
Catskill Smoked Salmon* Caper-Dill Mousse, Osetra Caviar, Pressed Pumpernickel
Esbenshade Farms Egg* Salad, Truffles, Local Chives, Checkerboard Brioche
Green Market Vegetable* and Goat Cheese* Terrine, Shiitake Mushrooms, Olive Focaccia
Satur Farm Radishes*, Watercress* English Cucumber, Sheep’s-milk cream*, Brioche
Coconut Green Tea Tartlette
Chai-Chocolate Macaroon
Mango Raspberry Tart Almond
Blueberry Financier
Egg Custard filled Chocolate Éclair
Chocolate Marquise
$48 per person
*Local and Organically sourced ingredients

IMG_6491.JPG

